#DOLLFAIL: BUFFY EDITION

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

For all of you doll haters out there, I ain’t mad at ya. We have seen some pathetic excuses of molding plastic (see past posts below). I don’t know if it is the new generation of Barbie makers, but from the photo above we can see that at one point, they had it right. Can you tell which is a doll and which is Buffy the Vampire Slayer aka Sarah Michelle Gellar? I had to do a triple take. Check out those fierce blonde tresses (freshly highlighted, of course), the perfect pout-y lips with just the right amount of lip gloss, and even the nose is shaped like hers. Please note that this doll was created like 10 years ago. Pretty sure Nina Dobrev was in sixth grade and probably not even allowed to watch the WB network, Ian Somerhalder was modeling for Abercrombie when it was actually cool, and Paul Wesley was just that hot guy on the basketball team. My point? How the hell can dolls TEN YEARS LATER be so terribly crafted that not even my dog finds them as justifiable chew toys. I don’t know. All I can say is that this was supposed to make me feel better but it’s actually pissed me off even more. How about we take ten steps forward and not twenty steps back Barbie and Co.? Next thing you know the cast of The Vampire Diaries will be looking like Care Bears. And those things freak me out. Don’t judge; I bet you my Damon Daylight Ring if your stuffed bear came alive in the middle of the night with a glowing heart on its stomach you would lose your shit too. But that’s a whole different topic. #fangsout

XOXO,

Team TSD

Leave a Reply

